Eight movies you should watch by//Emily Owens

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

I will always be thankful for George Lucas. His creation of the epic space opera is forever a classic. The Star Wars films have been entertaining generations since 1977. With the recent title announcement of the eighth episode I could not pass up this opportunity to dedicate an Emily’s Eight to the greatest space saga of all time.

Prequel Trilogy

  • Star Wars: Episode 1- “The Phantom Menace” (May 19, 1999)

Episode 1 follows Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi as they protect Queen Amidala, in hopes of securing a peaceful end to a large-scale multi-planet trade issue. Along the way they stumble upon Anakin Skywalker, whom Qui-Gon Jinn feels like he is the “Chosen One”.

  1.      Star Wars: Episode 2- “Attack of the Clones” (May 16, 2002)

Episode 2 follows Obi-Wan Kenobi and his new apprentice Anakin Skywalker. The two Jedi stop another attempt on Senator Amidala’s (Padmé) life after word gets out that she is going to vote in favor of making an army to assist Jedi. The Jedi Council assigns Obi-Wan to identify and go after the bounty hunter, while Anakin must escort Padmé back home to Naboo where the two fall in love. Anakin leaves when he finds his mother captured by the alien race Tuskens. Enraged, Anakin annihilates the village, ushering in the dark side into his career as a Jedi.  

  1.     Star Wars: Episode 3- “Revenge of the Sith” (May 19, 2005)

Episode 3 opens with Jedi Knights Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker leading a mission to rescue Chancellor Palpatine from the clutches of Separatist commander General Grievous and Sith Lord Count Dooku. Anakin kills Dooku after the Chancellor urged him to. When he returns he finds out that his wife Padmé is pregnant. He soon starts to have nightmares that Padmé will die while giving birth, after that he slowly declines into darkness as fear takes over his being.

Original Trilogy (“Sequel”)

  1. Star Wars: Episode 4- “A New Hope” (May 25, 1977)

The plot focuses on the Rebel Alliance, led by Princess Leia, and its attempt to destroy the Galactic Empire‘s space station, the Death Star. This conflict disrupts the isolated life of farmhand Luke Skywalker, who inadvertently acquires a pair of droids that possess stolen architectural plans for the Death Star. When the Empire begins a destructive search for the missing droids, Skywalker accompanies Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi on a mission to return the plans to the Rebel Alliance and rescue Leia from her imprisonment by the Empire.

  1.   Star Wars: Episode 5- “The Empire Strikes Back” (May 21, 1980)

The film is set three years after Star Wars. The Galactic Empire, under the leadership of the villainous Darth Vader and the Emperor, is in pursuit of Luke Skywalker and the rest of the Rebel Alliance. While Vader chases a small band of Luke’s friends—Han Solo, Princess Leia Organa, and others—across the galaxy, Luke studies the Force under Jedi Master Yoda. When Vader captures Luke’s friends, Luke must decide whether to complete his training and become a full Jedi Knight or to confront Vader and save them.

  1.   Star Wars: Episode 6- “Return of the Jedi” (May 25, 1983)

The Galactic Empire, under the direction of the ruthless Emperor, is constructing a second Death Star in order to crush the Rebel Alliance once and for all. Since the Emperor plans to personally oversee the final stages of its construction, the Rebel Fleet launches a full-scale attack on the Death Star in order to prevent its completion and kill the Emperor, effectively bringing an end to the Empire’s hold over the galaxy. Meanwhile, Luke Skywalker, a Jedi apprentice, struggles to bring Darth Vader, who, he finds out, is actually his father Anakin Skywalker, the fallen Jedi, back to the Light Side of the Force.

 Returning Trilogy

  1. Star Wars: Episode 7- “The Force Awakens” (December 14, 2015)

30 years after the destruction of the second Death Star a new empire arises; the First Order. Much like the Galactic Empire, the First Order’s goal is to destroy the Resistance which is back by the Republic. FN-2187, or Finn, (dubbed by Poe Dameron a resistance pilot) stumbled across Rey, a girl of unknown origin, and BB-8, a droid. Together they must cross the galaxy to return BB-8 to General Leia and the Resistance. BB-8 has the secret map that leads to Luke Skywalker.

  1. Star Wars: Episode 8- “The Last Jedi” (December 15, 2017)

With the new title release there are many questions people have about the new Star Wars. I know that I will have pre-release tickets and I will be in the line by 4:00 PM.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
The Student News Site of New Albany High School
Eight movies you should watch by//Emily Owens