Astrology: More than just horoscopes

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

By: Chloe Kellams

Astrology is technically “the study of the movements and relative positions of celestial bodies interpreted as having an influence on human affairs” but it is more commonly known as “that one thing that tells your horoscope, right?” People often use this fascinating science to look into their future, to analyze their own personality, and some just to annoyingly take up space on the Twitter timeline.  All pretty fascinating stuff without a doubt, but where does it all come from?
According to the ancient art of astrology, there are particular characteristics to each of the twelve zodiac signs. What attracts one zodiac sign to another and how the different zodiac signs are compatible with one another are some of the most popular aspects of astrology.  In a relationship or in a friendship, what does someone really desire in another person?  To begin with, think about the symbols of the zodiac signs. Zodiac glyphs are ancient symbols, and are studied to give a more in-depth knowledge about the nature of each sign.  For example, signs born under a symbol of an animal will have more animal instincts and appetites.
The animal glyphs include Taurus the bull, Sagittarius the half man half horse, Cancer the crab, Leo the lion, Capricorn the sea goat, Pisces the fish, Scorpio the scorpion and Aries the ram.
Other signs such as Gemini, Virgo, and Aquarius have human symbols. Libra is the only sign that is represented by an object, the scales. Each sign’s symbol is a direct representation of some of the main qualities the people born under that sign possess.  For example, the Libra’s scales represent the balance of karma, balance, judgment and fairness. Libras are notorious for their inability to make decisions.
The signs that are not represented by animal glyphs have more control over their animal instincts and appetite for life. The human symbols like Gemini, for example, is represented by the twins; Virgo is the sign represented by the Virgin, and Aquarius is represented by the water bearer. These human signs are less spontaneous than the animal signs. They are known for always thinking things through more thoroughly, rather than acting on instinct.
Although flaws can be found within the zodiac, most predictions and characteristics are usually somewhat accurate.  Even though you might not be an avid believer like myself, the zodiac and what it has to offer is always a fun source of entertainment.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

The Student News Site of New Albany High School
Astrology: More than just horoscopes